Mobile version
or Sing up if not registered

OneRepublic is a pop rock/alternative rock band from Colorado Springs. It was founded in 2002 and its current members are Ryan Tedder, Drew Brown, Eddie Fisher, Zach Filkins and Brent Kutzle. High school friends Zach and Ryan went through a couple of attempts of creating a band, before assembling collective in Chicago and brokering a deal with Columbia Records. Their somewhat strange choice of name resulted from producer’s advice – they were afraid of legal action from bands already named Republic. Two months before release of premier studio album, Columbia decided to drop them, which was a shock for guys. Mosley Music picked up their content, which got title “Dreaming Out Loud” and was released in late 2007 to moderate public interest. However, after Timbaland remixed and re-released one of singles from this album, “Apologize”, it became number one song on Billboard’s Pop charts for two months straight. Sales went through the roof. Two albums that followed in 2009 and 2013 – “Waking Up” and “Native” respectively – shared similar above average sales and below average critic reviews. Fourth album “Oh My My” flopped commercially after starting at third spot of Billboard 200, despite being promoted in advance during 15th Annual Honda Civic Tour and 2016 NFL Kickoff Concert. Critics think it was because there was absence of catchy song which saved their previous offerings.